Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

Drowning in a Mad World

Posted by Mr. Feeny on August 16, 2009

As is often the case with me, I didn’t get into Mad Men until…two weeks ago. But, I should be done with Season 2 by September, so I can catch up and be on pace with Maltisanti.

Man Men posterBut knowing what I do after one season, I absolutely love the poster for Season 3. How perfect is this? Don Draper – drowning in everything that’s happening around him with his past, his family, his work. The water’s rising, his world is flooding. And how does he react? Like Don Draper. Cool, collected, smoking a cigarette. Just sitting there in his office, letting the waters come. There’s nothing he can do about it, and maybe he doesn’t even want to stop it. But somethings are already being lost to the ebb and flow, like that cigarette pack. Genius. Simple but deep. I feel like I’m analyzing a book in English class. Luckily, I can skip the annotations. There might be even more to it than I realize from Season 2. If so, feel free to comment.

New season starts tonight! 9 o’clock CT on AMC. I’ve got my DVR set!

2 Responses to “Drowning in a Mad World”

  1. CJ Cregg said

    I do not, yet anyway, watch Mad Men. But for those of you that do, check out Frank Rich’s column in the New York Times this morning. Very interesting ruminations on the 60s and 70s.

    URL is here: http://www.nytimes.com/2009/08/16/opinion/16rich.html?pagewanted=1&th&emc=th

  2. Mr. Feeny said

    *sigh*

    Leave it to a DD Myers-wanna be to bring politics into the discussion. I’d say that was a well-thought out column with some interesting connections and points…but I won’t because it’s Frank Rich. And let’s leave the politics there…

Leave a Reply

 
