Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

Dancing with the…Stars?

Posted by Mr. Feeny on August 17, 2009

The list for ABC’s ninth season of Dancing with the Stars came out today. And yet again, we’re left wondering if this show needs a name change. Dancing with the B-List Stars. Dancing with the Once-Popular Stars. Dancing with the Googled Names. donny osmond

In fairness, I actually did recognize more of the names on this year’s roster than last season. Of course, there are many more names. 16 to be exact. Amazingly, though, it seems like the early shows will still fit into 2 hours. American Idol producers should take notes.

I would not say I’m a fan of Dancing with the Stars. Save for one season, I’ve only caught episodes here and there. Since I’m not a dancer, the main reason I tune in is for the few celebrities. When the people I like are gone, that’s the end of my viewership. Unfortunately for me, based on that criteria, I might be watching every episode.

The biggest star on this season is also likely the favorite. Donny Osmond. I’m not ashamed to admit that I’m a big Donny fan. I’m a little too young to have watched his first variety show (before his failed relaunch this decade…which was before the relaunch of Pyramid). But I love the Canadian cast recording of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. And I got his autograph when he toured with it in Chicago. And no, I don’t sleep with it under my pillow………It’s on my nightstand.

But there are several reasons Donny’s the favorite. First off, he’s no stranger to the stage, as mentioned above. Secondly, he’s no stranger to Dancing. His sister Marie was a popular contestant a couple seasons ago and he was regularly in the audience cheering her on. But most of all, Donny was supposed to be in Season Eight. But he pulled out. Why? To train. He thought he wasn’t in good enough shape, so he’s been working out and getting ready. My money’s on him.

Here’s the full list:

  • Aaron Carter (singer)
  • Natalie Coughlin (Olympic swimmer)
  • Mark Dacascos (Iron Chef America)
  • Tom DeLay (former Congressman)
  • Macy Gray (singer)
  • Ashley Hamilton (son of George)
  • Melissa Joan Hart (Sabrina the Teenage Witch)
  • Kathy Ireland (model)
  • Michael Irvin (wide receiver)
  • Joanna Krupa (model)
  • Chuck Liddell (mixed martial arts)
  • Debi Mazar (L.A. Law, Entourage)
  • Mya (singer)
  • Kelly Osbourne (daughter of Ozzie)
  • Donny Osmond (Entertainment Tonight)
  • Louie Vito (snowboarder)

So who’s your pick? Who will win? One of the 4 athletes, per usual? Who are you looking forward to watching? There aren’t any Chloris Leachmans in the group, unfortunately. And who will be ousted first? Tom DeLay’s the easy pick, since he has experience with that.

2 Responses to “Dancing with the…Stars?”

  1. CJ Cregg said

    I’ll be cheering for Tom DeLay. Just because it’s funny. And re: Donny Osmond? Oh, Mr. Feeny, why am I not surprised you’re a big fan?

  2. Katie said

    Tom DeLay!? BWAHAHAHAHAHA!

Leave a Reply

 
