Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

Rolling the Dice: Top Chef (S6: E2)

Posted by CJ Cregg on August 26, 2009

Another good episode of Top Chef.

In the Quickfire Challenge, cheftestants rolled dice on a craps table to determine how many ingredientslas vegas they could use for their dishes.  $15,000 was at stake for the winner.  Apparently Eve has never seen the show and does not realize that salads never win, which is fine by me as I find her annoying.  I won’t tell you who won and lost, but no real surprises in my opinion.  In fact, the top cheftestants at Quickfire were almost exactly the same as those on the top of last week’s elimination challenge.  It seems to me that the best chefs and worst chefs are making themselves known early.

For the elimination challenge, cheftestants catered a bachelor and bachelorette party.  But there was a twist.  Chefs were divided into teams, with the women chefs cooking for the bachelor party and the men for the bachelorette party.  Chefs were not excited about this battle of the sexes–the women especially whined about it. (Come on ladies!  Where is your sense of adventure?)   Chefs were also asked to pair dishes with shots.  Lots of ceviches being made.  Eve selected a shrimp ceviche which sounds boring even to me, who is not a foodie.  Ashley also didn’t seem to remember a tried and true Top Chef lesson, which is that throwing together a dessert at the last second when you’re not a pastry chef is always a bad idea.  Mike from DC continued with a unhealthy dose of arrogance when describing the men’s chances.

The politics of the episode (the gay and lesbian chefs were upset to be catering a party for a wedding when they aren’t allowed to get married) were a bit tired for me.  Ashley in particular was getting worked up and getting on my nerves.  I’m sympathetic to her concerns, but she was complaining about it every five seconds.  One makes a choice to go on a TV show and no one was forcing her to do the challenge, if you ask me.

I won’t tell you which team won, but after watching the judge’s eat and comment on the food, I was not surprised.  There was some new faces in the top dishes, though, which was nice.  I was thinking after the Quickfire that this could be a boring season since it was so clear who the best chefs were.  There is a lot of talent in this chef pool, though, so I think things will get mixed up as the seasons progresses.  I was absolutely not surprised as to who was in the bottom four.  The usual suspects.  Here’s a hint as to who got kicked off: I was very happy with the judge’s decision.  I think it was the right one.  This judge committed the egregious error of presenting a flavorless dish.

All in all, a good episode.  Not as good as last week’s, but still good.  Bravo rarely disappoints with its reality competition shows.

Next week is going to be great, methinks.

4 Responses to “Rolling the Dice: Top Chef (S6: E2)”

  1. Mr. Feeny said

    SPOILER —-

    I must commend you CJ. Last week, you picked Eve as the next to go…and you were right! Jennifer seemed solid again, as well. You know your Top Chef.

    • Mr. Feeny said

      Oh, and I just realized, as Mr. Feeny, I should certainly be addressing everyone as Miss Craig or Mr. Moltisanti.

      • CJ Cregg said

        Well in the interest of continuing my streak, I think the next to go will be Jesse.

        And CJ is fine. Did Mr. Feeny even have a first name?

  2. Mr. Feeny said

    I meant, that the real Mr. George Feeny always referred to everyone properly.

Leave a Reply

 
