Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

The EWwys – Comedy

Posted by Mr. Feeny on August 31, 2009

Entertainment Weekly‘s doing a great online poll series to determine the best of the non-nominated performers for last season. There are so many deserving nominees that this is a great idea. And it removes the old staples who don’t deserve to be on the Emmy list anyway. Also, the double mm is flipped upside down. Very clever.

Now these aren’t necessarily the best for each category. Sometimes the Emmy panel actually does get it right. But I like these snubptions.

Of course, you can’t vote here. So go up to that link and make your picks. But please feel free to comment on your winners. CJ and Christopher too (though I think I can predict some…especially CJ’s). I’ll choose mine and give a little reason why (they’re really close calls). I’ll post the Drama ones when Entertainment Weekly does. And if you’re wondering…yes, we’ll have a big thing on the Emmys later this month. We’re even preparing a second site for it. More to come.

Oh, and look on Hulu for clips of most of these “nominees.” Just click right……here.

*****************************************************************

Best Lead Actor in a Comedy

– Zachary Levi, “Chuck”
James Roday, “Psych” – Roday’s comedic timing and deadpan delivery are both fantastic…but his sincerity in dramatic moments makes him best.
– Kyle Bornheimer, “Worst Week” (my 2nd)
– Adam Scott, “Party Down”
– Nathan Fillion, “Castle”
– Patrick Warburton, “Rules of Engagement”

Best Lead Actress in a Comedy

– Eva Longoria Parker, “Desperate Housewives”
– Jordana Spiro, “My Boys”
– Kaley Cuoco, “The Big Bang Theory” – I admit…I only watched two of these shows and this isn’t one of them. But every time I saw TBBT Cuoco really impressed me, all grown up.

– Spencer Grammer, “Greek”
– Portia de Rossi, “Better Off Ted” (my 2nd)
– Billie Piper, “Secret Diary of a Call Girl” (comedy?)

Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy

– Michael Urie, “Ugly Betty”
– Chi McBride, “Pushing Daisies” (my 2nd)
– Ed Helms, “The Office”
– Hamish Linklater, “The New Adventures of Old Christine”
– Keir Gilchrist, “United States of Tara”
– Jason Segel, “How I Met Your Mother” – Tough category. I love HIMYM and Segel’s performance is pitch-perfect as Ted’s best friend…though I agree Ted’s other best friend deserved the Emmy nod.

Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy

– Kristen Schaal, “Flight of the Conchords”
– Nicolette Sheridan, “Desperate Housewives” (my 2nd)
– Amy Ryan, “The Office” – Even though she was really a guest star with a long arc and not a supporting player, her performance as Holly mixed tenderness and goofiness that Michael and audiences loved equally
– Judy Reyes, “Scrubs”
– Wanda Sykes, “The New Adventures of Old Christine”
– Becki Newton, “Ugly Betty”

Best Comedy (I’d be fine if these six were actually nominated)

– The Big Bang Theory
– Better Off Ted
– Chuck
– It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia – Much to risque for Emmy voters, but it’s fricking hilarious. And each actor buys completely into it.
– Psych
– Pushing Daisies (my 2nd)
.
**************************************************

Last year was the first year of the EWwys. I guess there are no repeats. The comedy winners were:

Best Comedy – “Flight of the Conchords”

Best Actor – Stephen Colbert, “The Colbert Report”

Best Actress – Jenna Fischer, “The Office”

Best Supporting Actor – Tracey Morgan, “30 Rock”

Best Supporting Actress – Angela Kinsey, “The Office”

3 Responses to “The EWwys – Comedy”

  1. CJ Cregg said

    First off, snubtions? WHAT? Who gave you license to make up words? Also, this isn’t even a good word.

    And yes, mine are predictable.

    I’m not casting a vote in the first category “Best Lead Actor in a Comedy” for a simple reason. I haven’t seen any of the shows. OK, I lied. I saw one episode of Castle and didn’t think it was very good. I do love Nathan Fillion, but the show was just mediocre. He can do better.

    For “Best Lead Actress in a Comedy,” I’m casting my vote for Spencer Grammer from Greek. Big shocker. She’s funny, cute, and believable as sorority sister Casey Cartwright. (NB: I can’t watch Greek tonight because of a prior commitment, so look for my reaction to tonight’s season premiere tomorrow night.)

    For “Best Supporting Actor,” I agree with Mr. Feeny that Neil Patrick Harris from How I Met Your Mother should have been nominated instead of Jason Segal. But I would cast my vote for Chi McBride from Pushing Daisies. He’s snarky as the knitting Private Investigator Emerson Cod and has a habit of repeating what the narrator said and creating nicknames for people (kind of like Sawyer from LOST).

    For “Best Comedy,” I’d also vote for Pushing Daisies. I will say that Better Off Ted had a few good episodes. (In fact one episode “Racial Insensitivity” may have been the funniest thing I saw on TV last year. The company (whose name escapes me) installed new light sensors that didn’t ‘see’ the black people that worked for the company. The company then hired white people to follow around the black people in lieu of getting new light sensors. Then, because of equal opportunity laws, they had to hire black people to follow around the white people who were following around the black people. Melee ensued.) The show had its high points, but not enough to get my vote. I’m frankly surprised that this show survived while The Unusuals got canned. And maybe a little bit bitter too.

    Good find, Mr. Feeny.

    • Mr. Feeny said

      “Racial Insensitivity” WAS a hilarious episode. Good pick. I was pleasantly surprised by Better Off Ted. If it comes back stronger this Winter, it could be one of my favorites.

      And just to clarify, NPH was nominated by the Emmys, so he couldn’t have been on the Ewwys. I think Emmy’s probably better.

  2. […] male, they miss the boat. So the EWwys picks up the slack. The comedy ones can be found in my earlier post. Follow the link above for the drama nominees and make your picks…and comment about it below. […]

Leave a Reply

 
