Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

Let’s Call the Whole Thing Off: Top Chef (S6: E3)

Posted by CJ Cregg on September 2, 2009

I have to admit first of all that I wasn’t paying as close attention as I usually do because I was drafting a fantasy football team earlier tonight (I probably should have drafted more wide receivers), but here are my thoughts on tonight’s Top Chef.  I’ve also decided that I’m going to go ahead and spoil.  I’ve tried not to in the past, but I feel like as long as I warn y’all, my loyal readers, ahead of time, there’s really no harm in spoiling.  It allows me to more fully share my feelings on the episode.  So, to cover my butt:

***SPOILER ALERT*** This post will contain spoilers!  (So don’t read if you’re planning on watching this episode later!)

Another good day for cheftestant Jennifer

Another good day for cheftestant Jennifer

The Quickfire Challenge asked the cheftestants to make an awesome dish with potatoes.  Other than a freak-out from Ashley, no real surprises here.  Jennifer won (she’s really good!), and Jesse was in the bottom three as per usual.  (Can’t we just send her home already?  She’s been in the bottom three almost every time!!!)

For the Elimination Challenge, chefs reported for duty and were asked to work as one single team (how novel! I like this twist) and create a meal for 300 airmen.  (I’m surprised Ashley didn’t whine about the military’s treatment of gays and lesbians, but thankfully she didn’t.)  Mike from DC took charge in his usual arrogant way as the chefs met to plan their menu and nominated Jennifer as the team leader because she had immunity.  They paired up to facilitate making 300 portions of each dish.

Upon entering the kitchen at the base, the chefs found mostly canned food and not enough stoves and burners, so there was a significant amount of tension in the kitchen, but Jennifer helped ease it like a pro.  Most of the chef pairs stuck to pretty simple dishes, which was probably a smart idea.  But there were lots of salads, chilis, and soups.  The kitchen was cramped, but Jennifer managed it quite well.  This underscores my feelings on her uber-competence.

Judge Gail noted that some of the dishes lacked creativity and inspiration, despite their general tastiness, which I suspected was coming.  The judges were more complimentary of the dishes than I thought they would be, though.  Kevin and Eli’s pork shoulder looked really good, and Michael V. and Mike from DC made a pork belly bacon dish that also looked awesome.  These pairs’ dishes were the top 2, not surprisingly.  Michael V. came out on top in this challenge.  The brothers have now each won one elimination challenge.

Preeti, Laurine, and Mike from DC were the bottom 3.  (A great number of chefs just continue to float along in the middle, making this perhaps a more boring season than there have been in the past.  For

The right choice for elimination

The right choice for elimination

example, Ron, Robin, and Mattin are all not getting a lot of face time and just hang out in the middle.)  Mike was LIVID for being in the bottom 3 for his shrimp dish, but it was pretty clear he wasn’t going to be sent home because of his pork dish.  Preeti and Laurine’s pasta salad was bad and boring, and their answers at judging table demonstrated that neither of them were really driven to win.  (They’ve also clearly never watched the show.  They expect to win Top Chef with a pasta salad?  Really?)  Sending Preeti home was the right choice.  She was not motivated, and seemed quite complacent to go when she did.

I was wrong about who would be kicked off (last week I predicted Jesse would go), and I really think she has overstayed her welcome.  She clearly is not one of the best chefs, so I’m going to go ahead and pick her to be kicked off next.  She made a chowder in 90 degree heat!  If that’s not a lack of skill and thought, then I don’t know what is.

One Response to “Let’s Call the Whole Thing Off: Top Chef (S6: E3)”

  1. Mr. Feeny said

    Jesse makes a ton of sense next week…if for no other reason than 3 of her 4 roomates were the first 3 gone. That’s ridiculous. What a terrible room.

Leave a Reply

 
