Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

Moltisanti’s Fall Predix

Posted by Christopher Moltisanti on September 9, 2009

For the record, I haven’t watched any of the shows that have premiered so far, so these are untainted predictions. Feel free to tell me I’m wrong now and later when I actually am wrong.

The Successes:

Brothers (FOX) – Don’t know why I’m on board with this, but I am…COMPLETELY.

White Collar (USA) – Looks like there’s a lot of storyline potential here.

NCIS: Los Angeles (CBS) – Can’t go wrong with the tried and true spin-off model.

The Jay Leno Show (NBC) – I’ve always liked Jay Leno and will be more inclined to watch him at 9 than 10:30. I suspect I’m not the only one.

Glee (FOX)

Community (NBC)

The Renewals:

The Beautiful Life (CW) – This looks painfully over-wrought, but it fits the CW mold, and I can see it attracting a following — for at least a year.

The Forgotten (ABC) –This should end up being a nice entertaining B-rate crime show.

The Modern Family (ABC) – Original and funny with a diverse array of characters.

Melrose Place (CW) – They’re going all out promoting it, so it’ll get at least two seasons.

The Oners:

Bored to Death (HBO) –I’m a big Jason Schwartzman fan, and anything with Ted Danson should be a success, but the trailer doesn’t give me enough to know for sure. I’m leaning toward a one-year run.

Mercy (NBC) – Looks like there’s enough “Grey’s Anatomy” drama here to keep this on the air for at least a year.

The Flops:

Accidentally on Purpose (CBS) – Stupid jokes, stupid plot, don’t like Jenna Elfman. And since we’re talking about stupid plots…

Cougar Town (ABC)

Flash Forward (ABC) – I went back and forth on this one, but it looks more like “Jericho” than “Lost” to me — a lot of sizzle at the beginning, but weak writing, weak characters and not a lot of substance. It’s a compelling premise, though, so I hope I’m wrong.

The Cleveland Show (FOX) – Family Guy is already a little tiresome (as one of our astute commenters recently noted), so I don’t know how this will work, especially without Stewie.

Eastwick (ABC)

The Good Wife (CBS)

Hank (ABC) – With Kelsey Grammer, this could easily be a success. I didn’t see anything in the trailer to make me think so, though.

The Middle (ABC) – “Malcolm in the Middle” imitation with fewer funny people.

Three Rivers (CBS) – It’s only saving grace is that it’s in the ‘Burgh.

Trauma (NBC)

V (ABC) – Was it just me or did parts of this look like a bad video game?

The Vampire Diaries (CW)

4 Responses to “Moltisanti’s Fall Predix”

  1. jorczak said

    I only hope that Three Rivers last because I have a friend writing for it. But the preview I watched seemed a little heavyhanded.

  2. Caro said

    So sorry you didn’t care for Three Rivers. CBS thought it was good enough to keep but they are re-shooting the first episode. Alex O’Loughlin and the story-line of organ donation/transplants is worth a second look. Almost everybody has been touched by this subject, either themselves, family, friends or co-worker. Alex is a talented actor who truly believes in this show and what it represents. Please give it another look when it premiers Oct 4th……..you will be suprised how good Alex is and how important this show is going to be.

    • Christopher Moltisanti said

      Thanks for the comment, Caro. I actually haven’t seen Three Rivers. The predictions were based on nothing more than trailers and gut instinct. Your comment makes me want to give it a closer look, though, so I will.

Leave a Reply

 
