Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

Eastwick: Premiere Review

Posted by CJ Cregg on October 10, 2009

The Three Witchy Womne

The Three Witchy Women

This is late in coming, but I figured I should post it anyway.  I graded this show several weeks back when I watched the premiere, but never got around to sharing my thoughts in a more in-depth manner.  As a result, I’ve forgotten some things.  Like the names of the main characters.  But basically all you need to know is that this show is bad, and you shouldn’t watch it.

Basic premise: The show follows three women living in a small town that are drawn together and all discover they have certain special talents.  One can make predictions, one can control people with her eyes, and I don’t remember what the last one can do.  Clearly I was invested in this show.  They use these powers to remake their lives.  The journalist gets a promotion, one leaves her abusive husband, and the third gets a patron to pay for her to pursue her art.

My thoughts:

  • The dialogue is bad and the acting is pretty awful as well.
  • Again with older women feeling empowered by sleeping with younger men.  Disgusting.  All these women seem to have men who ‘save’ them.  So much for female empowerment.  These women are all oversexed.
  • The scene where they get drunk on ‘water’ and splash around in a fountain clad in clingy, skimpy dresses.  What the face?  (To be appropriate and use current TV lingo.)  Who is this show geared toward?  I don’t think men are watching this show, but how could this possible reach women?  This show is just confused.
  • The plot is lacking.  It has none of the charm of other shows.
  • There was one thing about this show that I didn’t hate.  I liked the small town feel.  The show is set in a small town that reminded me of Stars Hollow from Gilmore Girls.  I liked that vibe.  But that was it.

Grade: D-

Is anyone watching this?  I don’t think so.

One Response to “Eastwick: Premiere Review”

  1. […] ABC’s show about the witchy women of Eastwick, which I suffered through and graded a D- is headed for the trash can.  I’m not crying.  […]

Leave a Reply

 
