Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

Three Rivers: Premiere Review

Posted by CJ Cregg on October 13, 2009

“That’s not how it works.  It has to be a gift.”

Getting a new heart

Getting a new heart

This is, again, something I should have posted last week when I watched the premiere, but I didn’t get around to it.  So here it is now.

I’ll start with saying that this show is fine.  It’s not fantastic, it’s not horrible, it’s fine.  If you’re a fan of the medical drama genre (which I’m not), you may really like it.

The show follows doctors, nurses, and patients as they contemplate and deal with organ donation.  In this episode, a pregnant woman suffers a heart attack and has to get a new heart ASAP.  A patient from Africa who has endured all kinds of hardship comes to get care in the best organ donation hospital in the world.  They vow to find a way to treat him despite him having no insurance.  A young boy finds out he has a problem with eating metal.  (Yah, weird.)

My other notes about the show:

  • I laughed out loud when a patient read the main doctor’s (Andy Yablonski) credentials like they were on a baseball card.  Some more subtle writing might help.
  • The music and montages that mark scene changes are a bit too sinister/intense.  The show is already intense enough, this makes it like horror movie intense.
  • The main doctor Yablonski (played by Alex O’Loughlin) seems to be like a House type figure.  He’s the best doctor in the country for organ donations, but doesn’t seem to have the snark or wit like House.  It will be interesting to see how they play out his backstory as the show continues.
  • I wonder how many more interesting story lines they can come up with.  The first episode dealt with a family that didn’t want to give an organ despite it being desperately needed.  What other issues will there be to bring up?  Organ shortages?  How much farther can this show go?  Of course, I did like the characters I met in the first episode, so I think there’s a decent show here without totally new story lines regarding organ donation all the time.

The last thing I’ll say is that the episode summary on CBS.com was grammatically incorrect.  This annoyed me and made me not want to watch the show.  It reads as follows: After suffering a heart-attack, Andy tells a young pregnant woman that in order to save her and her unborn child she must get a heart transplant.  This makes it seem like Andy had a heart attack, not like a young pregnant woman did.  Shame on you, CBS copy editors.

Take home story here: decent medical drama that may be enjoyed if you like the genre.  Give it a shot.

Grade: B-

2 Responses to “Three Rivers: Premiere Review”

  1. Mr. Feeny said

    Technically…I think that was me who was supposed to review it. But I’ve still yet to watch it, so thanks for picking up the slack.

    I think I’ll be reviewing all the others left undone anyway.

  2. CJ Cregg said

    Oh. Heh. Sorry to step on toes. I thought I was supposed to do it. I’ll look forward to reading what you have to say once you get around to watching it.

Leave a Reply

 
