Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

Fall’s Next Fatalities

Posted by CJ Cregg on November 11, 2009

No more trips to the Dollhouse

Three more shows got the ax this week.

1) ABC’s show about the witchy women of Eastwick, which I suffered through and graded a D- is headed for the trash can.  I’m not crying.  I’m not sure when the show will get yanked off the air, but good riddance, I say.

2) ABC’s Hank has also tanked, a show which I actually didn’t hate.  Hank had bad reviews from the get go, however.  I wonder if as viewers get accustomed to the mockumentary style like The Office or Modern Family the more traditional sitcoms will lose ground.  I’m not heartbroken to lose this one, either though.  Now when they cancel How I Met your Mother, then we’ll have to have words.  5 more episodes have been filmed, but it is unclear whether they will be aired or not.

3) Fox’s Dollhouse is also done after this season.  All 13 episodes ordered for the second season will be aired starting December 4.  I’m a huge Joss Whedon fan, but this show got pretty poor reviews from my friends, so I never tuned in.  I was planning on giving it a shot at some point, but I never got around to it.  Guess I won’t waste my time.

These three join Trauma and the Beautiful Life, which have already been canceled.

One Response to “Fall’s Next Fatalities”

  1. Mr. Feeny said

    Poor Kelsey Grammar. Maybe he should try a dramedy. Something like his character in “Swing Vote.” But I thought Hank was really lame. And I watched it a few times.

    Eastwick only got one viewing, though. So bad. I like to see terrible shows getting the axe. Makes me think there are still some things right with the world.

    Dollhouse had to go simply from a ratings standpoint. It wasn’t nearly as entertaining as Buffy or Angel, and never really identified a core audience. The mythology was too confusing. But I did enjoy it. Not must-watch for me, but I made sure I saw each episode, and still will watch just for resolution. But I don’t like Eliza Dushku.

Leave a Reply

 
