Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

Great Thanksgiving Episodes Pt 1: Slapsgiving

Posted by Mr. Feeny on November 23, 2009

Who doesn’t love themed episodes of favorite shows? So let’s prepare for Thanksgiving by picking four especially memorable and fantastic episodes of television all about the turkeys. I thought about doing this for Halloween, but with my new infatuation with Buffy the Vampire Slayer, they probably would have all come from there. Also considered it for Columbus Day, but really, that would have just ended up being a Columbo marathan.

So, for the next four days, I give you some of my favorite Thanksgiving themed episodes. Remember, though, that even my TV database is limited, so some will certainly be left out. For instance, I understand Friends always has a great one, but I never watched it. After my Thanksgiving post (the ultimate Turkey Day TV episode), please add in your favorite episodes.

We  begin with a modern favorite. Two years ago, one of my (and CJ’s) favorite sitcoms unleashed a running side plot about “the slap bet.” Over the course of two seasons, How I Met Your Mother teased viewers about when Marshall would slap Barney, fulfilling an earlier bet (made on the previous season’s Thanksgiving episode). The ultimate episode featured Slap #3 and also revolved around Thanksgiving, or Slapsgiving. That alone made this episode legendary. But in HIMYM style, there were also other great reoccurring jokes introduced…like Marshall singing and saluting on “Major Problem” or “Private Matter” or “General Point.”

This is Part One of my series because tonight’s episode is “Slapsgiving 2.” Can’t wait.

2 Responses to “Great Thanksgiving Episodes Pt 1: Slapsgiving”

  1. CJ Cregg said

    Great idea! I LOVE Slapsgiving! HIMYM does a great job with carrying jokes through the seasons. And I can’t wait for tonight’s episode. I do sincerely hope that West Wing’s “The Indians in the Lobby” and “Shibboleth” make your list for the best Thanksgiving episodes. If not, I shall add them when you finish!

  2. Mr. Feeny said

    You know, I realized this week that that’s the biggest difference between sitcoms of today vs. yesteryear. Nothing ever seemed to carry over in comedies of the 50s/60s/70s. No running gags, no continuous plots. For the most part, everything was isolated. “I Love Lucy” played with it a bit in their Hollywood and Europe tours, but that was still very disconnected. Take “Mary Tyler Moore” for instance. She never had a continous boyfriend. They’d just leave episodes with her dating someone and then no explanation of what happened to that person. That’d be unheard of in today’s sitcoms.

Leave a Reply

 
