Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

Donny Osmond Dances to the Top

Posted by Mr. Feeny on November 25, 2009

As I picked back in August, Donny Osmond was crowned the ninth champion of Dancing with the Stars last night. As much as I like Donny, I never got to watch this season. Too many shows on my list — especially on Monday — to set aside time for a very long reality show. But my mother kept me informed all season long.

Apparently, while other competitors like Mya jumped way ahead and kept wowwing judges week-in and week-out, Donny treated the season as a marathon. Despite his stage background, learning the dance steps came a little harder for him than the pop singer. So he progressively got better each week, with his legions of fans keeping him in it. Truly, he’s just too darn charming to vote off.

But, he really did become a great dancer by the end of it. His first and only perfect score came with his very final dance. What a way to go. And although his final night of performances netted 13 less points than Mya from the judges, that was no problem for the voting public to overcome. Donny’s stint on Dancing with the Stars was long-awaited and I’m glad he didn’t disappoint. I just wish I had had time to see him.

Again, with Hulu, I can’t put videos directly into our post. So see the video player to the right for Donny’s final show-stopping number…or visit this link.

 

3 Responses to “Donny Osmond Dances to the Top”

  1. CJ Cregg said

    I have to admit. I watched part of the season finale last night. (Got out of class late, missed V…blah blah blah.) But I wonder if there isn’t a better way to structure shows like this or American Idol. The live two hour finales are just too long. And the fact that the dances and the results come on two different nights is just ridiculous. While Tom DeLay dancing the Texas two step was humorous, why bring back all of the people who got kicked off? They got kicked off for a reason: they sucked! I don’t know, I found myself wanting to know who won, but the results show was just too boring for me to feel like sitting all the way through. I turned it off after Kelly’s (beautiful) waltz.

    • Mr. Feeny said

      I agree, CJ. They’re too long. Although American Idol’s finale last year was truly fantastic. They brought in so many huge names. It was a star-studded event. I enjoyed that. I think this one would have gotten tiring, though.

      By the way, how have your picks fared for reality shows? Was the ANTM winner your premiere pick? What about Top Chef and Project Runway? I’m excited about my Dancing pick winning, all three of my Amazing Race final teams are looking good…though my Survivor pick is probably on the way out.

  2. CJ Cregg said

    I’m not very good at picking winners during the premieres. However, the winner I picked during the premiere of ANTM ended up in the final 4. I figured out about 6 weeks before the end of the season, though, that the winner was actually going to be Nicole.

    In terms of Top Chef, the winner I picked during the premiere is still in the competition. She’s made it to the final 4. However, I don’t think she’ll win. The winner is definitely going to be Kevin.

    Project Runway was a little bit more up in the air. I felt very comfortable with my premiere picks, but they were both sent home early in shocking eliminations. However, once again, several weeks before the season finale, I felt quite comfortable saying the winner was going to be Irina. And it was. Didn’t make this a good season, though.

Leave a Reply

 
