Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

Better Off Ted Take Two

Posted by CJ Cregg on December 4, 2009

Lem, Veronica, and Ted discuss the problematic light sensors

Season two of ABC’s off-kilter office comedy Better off Ted premieres on Tuesday.  (I’ll be watching Prep and Landing, but I wanted to alert those of you who aren’t as enamored with holiday specials as I am.)

Reviews of season one from my friends were mixed.  Some thought it was the cleverest (most clever?) show on TV, while it kind of fell flat for others.  (I was closer to the latter camp than the former.)  The show follows Ted, who heads R&D,  and other workers at Veridian Dynamics, a soulless mega-company.  Portia di Rossi is quite good as Veronica, the head of Veridian.  And the offbeat advertisements or fake commercials they play for Veridian products are humorous.  But honestly, the best part of the show in my opinion is the title.  In all fairness to the show, I think I’m just bitter that The Unusuals got canceled while Better Off Ted got a second run.

I will say, one episode from season one entitled “Racial Sensitivity” was one of the funniest things I saw on TV last year.  Watch it here.  In this episode, Veridian installs new sensors on the automatic doors.  However, the sensors don’t pick up the black employees, so they can’t get around the office building.  Veridian hires white people to follow the black people around to get the doors to open.  Due to equal opportunity laws, though, they have to hire black people to follow the white people who were following the black people.  Yah.  Funny.  This was the fourth episode of the season.  I soon lost interest.  But if you want a half hour of hilarity, check out this episode.  I make no guarantees as far as the rest of the season.

Season two premieres December 8th at 8:30pm CT.

One Response to “Better Off Ted Take Two”

  1. Mr. Feeny said

    I’ll make the guarantee. Hilarious show. You beat me to the punch on posting about it. I just refreshed my memory on all 13 Season 1 episodes on Hulu (only available til Tuesday). What stands out most to me is the acting. All five central characters deliver their lines with pitch-perfect ease. The content is also very humorous, even if it is set again a bunch of fake creations. I’ll definitely be adding “Better off Ted” to my long list of shows I watch. Probably the fourth best comedy on the air right now, after “The Office,” “How I Met Your Mother,” and “Modern Family.”

    And yes, “Racial Sensitivity” was the best episode of the season…but the rest were very good.

Leave a Reply

 
