Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

TV’s Best Animals of the Decade

Posted by Mr. Feeny on December 30, 2009

Admit it. You’re sick of the usual Decade Lists. Actor, Actress, Show, Character. Everyone’s doing that. But how many are narrowing down the best animals of the decade? There’s clearly a high demand for it. And so, I supply. But, I admit there are many shows I have not seen. So if one belongs on this list, let me know!

1) The Polar Bear (LOST) – So you’re sitting at home in 2004, getting into this new show about a plane crash. It’s looking like a dramatic Gilligan’s Island, with some interesting characters. This should be pretty basic but enjoyable. Just kick back and…Holy Crap! Sawyer just shot a polar bear! They’re on an abandoned tropical island in the Pacific. How the heck did a polar bear get there? And thus a mythology was born. Fans becoming obsessed with the secrets of the island, the meaning behind everything. Mysteries that have continued for over five years. Of course, the polar bear question has been answered (mostly). They came through that weird frozen room with the wheel during a time shift and island relocation. See, simple. Oh, and that’s how one ended up in the Sahara desert too. The comic book? Um…well…Dharma. That’s all you need to know. (Oh, and numbered rabbits were a close honorable mention on this list).

2) Spongebob (Spongebob Squarepants) – I really hate that he’s on my list. But I couldn’t leave him off. The cartoon debuted in 1999, becoming a phenomenon this decade…and a sponge is an animal. It would have been unthinkable, actually, to leave him off, since he quickly became one of the most popular cartoon characters of this generation, spawning constant references, costumes and even outrage from religious groups. Tell me. Who lives in a pineapple under the sea? The fact that you know the answer…and in song…tells you he belongs on the list. 

3) The Cougar (24) – No, not Courtney Cox. THE Cougar. Any 24 fan knows exactly what I mean. Even if I didn’t mention the show, just saying the word “cougar” brings back memories of the stupidest sideplot in 24 history. Kim (Jack’s daughter) staring down a cougar in the woods and taking refuge with some crazy guy. Kim’s whole plot had nothing to do with the season, so the cougar really just serves as a symbol of how bad it got. But even for that, it’s at the top of the list for animals of the decade.

4) Pie-O-My (The Sopranos) – He wasn’t featured in a lot of episodes. But what a central figure Pie-O-My was to the 4th season of The Sopranos. First off, what Godfather-loving viewer didn’t instantly think “uh oh, mobsters and prize-winning horses do not mix”? I was expecting some part of Pie-O-My to end up in Tony or Ralph’s bed. But that horse meant more to the story than just a symbolic gesture. Tony invested himself in that horse, more so than the money. He was his baby. He practically cradled it when it was sick. So when Ralph supposedly burns down the stable and kills Tony’s newfound love, what else is he going to do but strangle him to death? One of the most shocking and unsettling moments in The Sopranos run…and it was all because of Pie-O-My.

5) The Goat (How I Met Your Mother) – I have to admit. I still don’t really get the point of the goat. It was a running tease on HIMYM throughout all of last season. And they’ve referenced it several times this season. But the actual pay-off…I don’t remember. I think I was disappointed. But the fact that I still remember the goat tells me it deserves a place on this list.

Honorable Mentions: Brian on Family Guy, The meerkats of Meerkat Manor, The West Wing turkeys, Sharks, Eddie from Frasier, anything the late Steve Irwin tackled.

One Response to “TV’s Best Animals of the Decade”

  1. CJ Cregg said

    YES! I’m glad the West Wing turkeys get at least an honorable mention. I also fully support the inclusion of How I Met Your Mother’s goat. I would like to add to the list Paul Anka, Lorelai Gilmore’s fussy and spoiled dog from Gilmore Girls.

Leave a Reply

 
