Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

Season 5 of HIMYM in a Nutshell

Posted by CJ Cregg on June 4, 2010

How to get this show moving again?

Mr. Feeny sent me this article this morning about How I Met Your Mother, and I thought I would share it with you in the lull between the finales of the fall shows and the kickoff of the summer series next week.

(OK, so Wipeout and the USA shows have premiered.  I started blogging about Wipeout and then realized I didn’t really know what to say other than ‘did you see that? this stuff is craaaazy,’ so I quickly abandoned the endeavor and gave into my schadenfreude.)

Anyway, so back to HIMYM.  In this review, Jamie Weinman suggests that the show as of late has been suffering from the problem of the ‘aborted arc.’  Read the article here.  I agree with the author’s assessment that this season had some great individual episodes, but that overall it was lacking.  I especially agree with Weinman’s thoughts on the finale, and I really hope that the show’s creators take some of his advice to heart.

This author should copyright the phrase ‘aborted arc,’ though.  Because in addition to HIMYM, I think this problem was also particularly plaguing Brothers and Sisters, as I complained about earlier this year in another post.

What do you think?  How can HIMYM make next season great?  Is it time to just meet the mother already?  How can they make these storylines new again?

Leave a Reply

 
