Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

New on Tuesdays this Fall

Posted by Mr. Feeny on September 3, 2010

Time for Tuesday’s new shows. Remember, for an easy reference of all these shows, click on “Fall Premieres 2010” at the top. Or that little link I just included.

My initial reaction to the lineup is that I feel sorry for No Ordinary Family. Even if it’s good, it’s doomed. ABC put it against ratings juggernaut NCIS and fan favorite Glee. So, as long as their target audience isn’t old people, men, young people or women, they should be fine. The 8 o’clock hour is one I’ll actually be fine skipping (which is good, since I work Tuesday nights), and 9 o’clock will give me an interesting choice between The Good Wife and Parenthood.

Oh, and last year’s Tuesday premieres: a genuine mixed bag. NCIS: Los Angeles and The Good Wife were huge hits. The Forgotten and Melrose Place were not. And V was a miss that gets another chance.

No Ordinary Family

Basics: Family Drama
Twist: The family is full of super-heroes
Stars You Know: Michael Chiklis (The Shield), Julie Benz (Dexter), Autumn Reeser (The OC)
Creative Team: Creator Greg Berlanti (Brothers & Sisters, Eli Stone, Everwood), Director David Semel (Heroes, Life)
Timeslot: 7:00pm (Tues)
Network: ABC
Going Against: NCIS, Glee, The Biggest Loser, One Tree Hill
Premiere: September 28

Raising Hope

Basics: Family Sitcom
Twist: Single father with a family’s help
Stars You Know: Cloris Leachman (The Mary Tyler Moore Show), Garret Dillahunt (The Sarah Connor Chronicles), Skyler Stone (Dollhouse), Shannon Woodward (ER)
Creative Team: Creator Greg Garcia (My Name Is Earl)
Timeslot: 8:00pm (Tues)
Network: FOX
Going Against: Dancing with the Stars, NCIS: Los Angeles, Life Unexpected, The Biggest Loser
Premiere: September 21

Running Wilde

Basics: Family Sitcom
Twist: Single father with a family’s help
Stars You Know: Will Arnett (Arrested Development, 30 Rock), Keri Russell (Felicity), David Cross (Arrested Development)
Creative Team: Creators Mitch Hurwitz and Jim Vallely (Arrested Development)
Timeslot: 8:30pm (Tues)
Network: FOX
Going Against: Dancing with the Stars, NCIS: Los Angeles, Life Unexpected, The Biggest Loser
Premiere: September 21

Detroit 1-8-7

Basics: Crime Drama
Twist: It’s in Detroit
Stars You Know: Michael Imperoli (The Sopranos), Aisha Hinds (True Blood), James McDaniel (Cop Rock)
Creative Team: Producer David Zabel (ER), Producer David Hoberman (Monk)
Timeslot: 9:00pm (Tues)
Network: ABC
Going Against: Parenthood, The Good Wife, Sons of Anarchy
Premiere: September 21
3 Responses to “New on Tuesdays this Fall”

  1. CJ Cregg said

    Hmmm, I’m not stoked by Tuesday’s new lineup either.
    No Ordinary Family doesn’t really arouse my interest.
    Raising Hope actually did look kind of funny, but not hilarious.
    Running Wilde’s trailer also had moments that made me chuckle, but it doesn’t look nearly as good as Arrested Development was. But perhaps it’ll just take some getting used to for me. (It took me awhile to warm up to AD.)
    And Detroit 1-8-7 I think is going to need more of a twist than ‘it’s set in Detroit.’ Just not that interesting.

    • Mr. Feeny said

      No Ordinary Family definitely has me interested, especially since I loved The Incredibles. I thought the two comedies looked kind of stupid. When did you start liking Arrested Development? You mentioned AD in your original Modern Family review as another comedy you didn’t get. I’m glad your comedic tastes are maturing!

      Detroit 1-8-7 originally had an interesting twist, which you can see in the trailer. They were going to film it as a documentary, which I don’t recall a drama doing. But for some reason, they decided to scrap that idea (I think it had to do with a court decision about videotaping ride-alongs), so now it’s just a boring typical cop show.

      • CJ Cregg said

        I’ve only seen season one of AD, but I started watching it in June, after a certain, shall we say Senator Glen Allen Walken recommended it to me. And it definitely started to grown on me. But it takes some getting used to, I think.

Leave a Reply

 
