Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

“Hawaii Five-O” Pilot Review

Posted by Marlo Stanfield on September 21, 2010

Scott Caan, Daniel Dae Kim, Alex O'Loughin, and Grace Park star in "Hawaii Five-O"

“Book ‘em, Danno.”

Where Chase fails, Hawaii Five-O rules.

What a way to start an episode. Explosions, and the main character’s father is killed by a terrorist’s organization.  Gotta love that. And Daniel Dae Kim sans accent.

“I’m sorry for lying to you.”  These are the parting words of the father of Detective Steve McGarrett (Alex O’Loughin).  And so begins the story.  Detective Danny Williams (portrayed by Scott Caan) sets off to solve the murder of his father.  The Governor of Hawaii has set up a special task force for Detective McGarrett to be in charge of.  He meets his dad’s old trainee Chin Ho Kelly (Daniel Dae Kim) who enlists his cousin Kono (Grace Park) to help infiltrate the enemies.  Some leads, a few bullet hits, tons of car crashes, arrested enemies, and Bam! We have a pilot.

This was a very good premiere.  The humor in this show is great (e.g. Danno’s ringtone for his ex-wife is the Psycho theme.)   O’Loughin and Caan are great foils to each other – perfectly hitting the repartee. Time will tell how great Daniel Dae Kim is in the series – he pretty much played the informant in this episode.  Lastly, the action is superb – I won’t spoil anything at the moment, but I will say there involves a semi crashing through a building and a very large explosion.   I can’t write too much for this review, well, because not much happens except tons and tons of action.  And, honestly, I have no qualms about that.

This show is going to succeed on CBS.  Now, I know that a reboot of Hawaii Five-O is TV sacrilege.  And is it profound or have a deeper meaning?  Of course not. But I really enjoyed it.  It has the mix of humor and action that has made NCIS such a popular show and carries the sensation of an exotic locale like CSI: Miami.  And who doesn’t like Hawaii?

This guy

Grade: B+

2 Responses to ““Hawaii Five-O” Pilot Review”

  1. Mr. Feeny said

    This really is a fantastic show. I never saw the original (though I recognized the theme song), so I wonder if the comic relationship between the characters was so highly tuned. And after just one episode. I see this as being the action-packed NCIS. It might fall off my list only because I have so much to watch, but I’ll gladly watch reruns. That’s not a slam. It’s just the nature of being an enjoyable procedural. I do hate the rigidness of O’Loughlin, though.

    Grade: A-

  2. CJ Cregg said

    I really really liked this show. Which is funny because this totally isn’t my genre. I loved the action, and I LOVE the dialogue and banter between the teammates. I was putting off watching it because I wasn’t too into the whole remake thing, but this is a good show.

    I’m not sure if I’ll keep watching because I have too much else to watch, but I wish I had more time!

    Grade: A-

Leave a Reply

 
