Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

“The Old Wagon” (Modern Family – S2:E1)

Posted by Mr. Feeny on September 22, 2010

When I’ve got tons of new shows to review, I probably shouldn’t be spending time recapping a sitcom. But I love what CJ does with her How I Met Your Mother posts, and since Modern Family is actually the best comedy on television, I’ve decided to do the same thing each week. I’m going to include a Most Valuable Family Member category, since pretty much this entire Emmy-nominated cast shines every episode, it’d be nice to know who gets the best stuff each episode. Also, since it is a family comedy, the Heartwarming Moment of the episode.

Plot Summary: Phil and Claire debate getting rid of the old station wagon. Cam and Mitchell build a castle for Lily. Manny has a study-date with a crush of his.

Best Moment: Luke tells his mom she looks really pretty in an old picture from the Rose Bowl. He then asks what happened, and Phil says “Well, everyone gets older. Just because parts of your mom aren’t what they used to be, doesn’t mean…” Luke interrupts: “I mean, what happened in the game.” Claire stares Phil down and simply says “we got our butts kicked by Penn State.” But that’s not what makes this the best moment. Phil then says: “The parade was awesome, though. Angela Lansbury was the grand marshal. Good times, she wrote.” Followed by a big grin at the camera. I didn’t think it was possible for me to love Phil more. But he’s an Angela fan! I am going to grow up to be Phil. (Also, apparently Phil is an Oregon fan).

MVFM: Phil

Heartwarmer: The kids laughing and bonding over the car disaster at the end.

Top 3 Jokes/Gags:

1) Phil: “I like to use minimonic devices to help me remember. Like the other day, I met this guy named Carl. Now, I might forget that name. But he was wearing a Grateful Dead t-shirt. What’s a band like the Grateful Dead? Phish. Where do fish live? The ocean. What else lives in the ocean? Coral. Hello, Coral.” <beat> Claire: “I think it’s pneumonic.” Phil: “Nah. I think I’d remember.”

2) Mitchell: “Dad, remember how much fun we had when we built that bookcase together?” <beat> Jay (to camera): “That was my Vietnam. And I was in Vietnam.”

3) As the car starts to roll away, Phil keeps jumping on top of the hood and flopping about. Claire: “What’s the plan Phil?!” Phil: “At least I’m trying to do something!”

Leave a Reply

 
