Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

“Law & Order: Los Angeles” Premiere Review

Posted by Marlo Stanfield on September 29, 2010

Law & Order: Not L.A. Law

Buh Buh.  Duh duh duh duh duh. BUH BUH. Duh  duh duh duh, duh duh duh. GUITAR RIFF! BUH BUH. Duh duh duh duh duh duh….And so on and so forth.

But you know what?  IT’S NOT IN LAW & ORDER: LOS ANGELES!  This caused my mind to start to race: “Why’s there no theme song? Are they going to have a new style to show?”

No.

And so begins Law and Order: New Coast, Same Thing.  Still works, still enjoyable.  May actually be a little better written, and there’s comfort in mediocrity and the expected, I suppose.

Law & Order: Los Angeles follows Senior Detective Rex Winters (Skeet Ulrich, who by my knowledge has lived in a cave since Scream, and by that, I mean starred on the ill-fated Jericho) and Junior Detective Tomas “TJ” Jaruszalski (played by Corey Stall and named after Chicago Improviser/Actor TJ Jagodowski*).  Arleen Gonzales (Rachel Ticotin) is the police commanding officer. In this episode, we focus on Senior Deputy D.A. Molina, and next week will be Senior Deputy D.A. Howard (I’d look up the names, but it’s so much easier this way.)  And, apparently, Peter Coyote will descend from the heavens and portray the District Attorney sometime this season.

*Jagodowski on the Left. Also, if you believed me, you are a fool

Detectives TJ and Rex are investigating a burglary that leads to a murder at the home of Hollywood star Chelsea DeMille by her mother Vicki in self defense.  OR SO IT WOULD SEEM!  In the grand tradition of the never ending series, Vicki ends up having been involved with a burglary ring, where she was sleeping with the burglar that she killed out of self defense.  In addition, Vicki vicariously lives through her starlette daughter, the breadwinner of the home and supports her mother’s expensive habits. When Chelsea hits a dry spell in her career, the burglaries begin at the homes of Hollywood’s elite. Sorry for the spoiler, but you’ll get over it by next week.  Oh, and Mira Furlan (Rousseau from LOST) makes a cameo as a photographer.  You see, when she isn’t shooting Others, she’s shooting headshots. Wah Wah.

I like Law & Order(s), so I enjoyed this.  I’m not going to go out of my way to watch it, but I won’t turn it off if it’s on, and in six years when they’re doing a marathon on TNT, I’ll probably watch three or four episodes before forcing myself to do something else.  And the writing and acting seem to be a little better than average for the Law & Order series, maybe even a little less melodramatic (although they haven’t done there tribute to Less Than Zero yet, and the line on that has to be a Push.) However, I’m going to be irritated if this is Law & Order: Showbiz, because there can be so much to explore in Los Angeles and the vastly different feel of New York, from Hollywood to South Central to a Heat tribute if Dick Wolf so wants it.  In addition, I’m sure it’s cheaper for them to film in Los Angeles, so it’s a logical step.  All in all, Law & Order: Los Angeles is a slightly fresher version of an old favorite, but not much else.

Grade: B-

One Response to ““Law & Order: Los Angeles” Premiere Review”

  1. CJ Cregg said

    I really liked this pilot. I’ve never spent much time watching the old Law and Orders, but I was pleasantly surprised with this episode. I like the LA focus and the fake celebrities and the glamor in their cases. I hope they continue to make their silly, ‘it’s LA’ quips. Ulrich is solid and enjoyable as Winters, and Molina is good in all of his stoic glory.

    I also won’t be going out of my way to watch it, but I do love a good TNT marathon.

    Grade: B+

Leave a Reply

 
