Two Guys, a Girl and a TV Set

Three college friends out in the world, filling the void with television…and loving it.

America’s Game loses an Icon

Posted by CJ Cregg on November 3, 2010

Like most of my co-bloggers, my tastes in television were shaped by my parents.  I grew up watching Get Smart and Mork & Mindy with  my dad.  I’ve been watching Wheel of Fortune with my mom for as long as I can remember.  I am a card-carrying member of the Wheel of Fortune fan club, and I play bonus puzzles online everyday.  I’ve even attended a live taping of the show, and at the top of my bucket list is to get on the show myself.  (Seriously.  I’m really good.  Pick me?  Please?)  I fill out several applications a year.

Anyway, so it made me sad to learn that Wheel‘s voice, Charlie O’Donnell has passed away at age 78.  He’s the one that always tells the contestants about the fabulous trips they could win.  (And the “Wheeeeeeeeel of Fooooooooortune!” guy.)  His cause of death is unclear.  Turns out, Charlie was the voice of Wheel even before Pat and Vanna were in the picture.

See more of Charlie’s storied history here.

One Response to “America’s Game loses an Icon”

  1. Andrea said

    twenty five thouuuuuuuuuuuuuusand dollars!

Leave a Reply

 
